Invest Ireland | Brexit

Brexit

Read about our latest Brexit news and insights

 

The UK’s decision to leave the EU will have very significant political, legal, economic, and social ramifications. The nature of these will only become clear over time. 

Businesses should assess and plan for the likely legal and tax implications of Brexit now so that they can seek to mitigate risk and exploit opportunity.

There is no immediate change to law. Britain remains in the EU and subject to the primacy of EU law until the conclusion of the Article 50 process. But in the medium to longer term the changes will likely be profound, widespread and complex given the extensive intermingling of national UK law and EU law.

The likely changes are analysed below on a sectoral and legal practice basis.

 

If you have any questions on Brexit, please contact your usual Mason Hayes & Curran contact or one of our team below.

Declan Black
Managing Partner
t: +353 1 614 5017
e: dblack@mhc.ie
Graeme Bell
Head of
London Office
t: +44 203 178 3368
e: gbell@mhc.ie
Philip Nolan
Partner, Head of
Commercial
t: +353 1 614 5078
e: pnolan@mhc.ie
David O'Donnell
Partner, Head of
Corporate
t: +353 1 614 5065
e: dodonnell@mhc.ie
Ian O'Herlihy
Partner, Head of
Employment &
Benefits
t: +353 1 614 2434
e: ioherlihy@mhc.ie
William Carmody
Partner, Co-Head of
Energy, Utilities & Projects
t: +353 1 614 5097
e: wcarmody@mhc.ie
Rory Kirrane
Partner, Co-Head of
Energy, Utilities & Projects
t: +353 1 614 5273
e: rkirrane@mhc.ie
Christine O'Donovan
Partner, Head of
Financial Services
t: +353 1 614 5082
e: codonovan@mhc.ie
Wendy Hederman
Partner, Head of Food,
Agriculture & Beverages
t: +353 1 614 5857
e: whederman@mhc.ie
Richard Woulfe
Partner, Head of
Intellectual Property
t: +353 1 614 5070
e: rwoulfe@mhc.ie
Fionán Breathnach
Partner, Head of Investment
Funds and Financial
Regulation
t: +353 1 614 5080
e: fbreathnach@mhc.ie
John Gulliver
Tax Partner,
Head of Tax
t: +353 1 614 5007
e: jgulliver@mhc.ie