Latest

Events

Webinar: Custody & Guardianship Issues for Schools

Event Date: 02 October 2020

We hosted a webinar on accommodating diverse family units in both primary and secondary schools on Friday 2 October.

The 2016 census recorded over 400,000 separated, divorced, and lone persons. Custody and Guardianship issues in particular can present school leaders with dilemmas that demand timely responses. Case law and legislation help clarify scenarios but don't give all the answers.

In this webinar we discussed the challenges for schools in accommodating diverse family units, many of whom are either parents or guardians of children in our schools. Our speakers looked at the rights of the different parents and guardians, disputes over admission, access to records, requests for reports for court cases, how to handle subpoenas, changing surnames and the issue of students over 18 years.

You can contact any of our speakers directly:

Speakers:
Ian O'Herlihy, Partner & Head of Education, Mason Hayes & Curran LLP - ioherlihy@mhc.ie
Liam Riordan, Partner, Mason Hayes & Curran LLP - lriordan@mhc.ie
Paul Rochford, Partner, Mason Hayes & Curran LLP - prochford@mhc.ie
Catherine Kelly, Senior Associate, Mason Hayes & Curran LLP - ckelly@mhc.ie
David Ruddy, BL, Mason Hayes & Curran LLP - druddy@mhc.ie

To view this webinar, please click the video below. If you have any questions, please email events@mhc.ie

Related Expertise

Education Law
  • LinkedIn