Latest

Events

Webinar: Underperformance of Primary School Staff –The Elephant in the Room

Event Date: 10 November 2020

On Tuesday 10 November, we hosted a webinar looking at Underperformance of Primary School Staff. School leaders have long indicated that their most stressful responsibility is managing teachers, special needs assistants, and ancillary staff. Sometimes a school leader is subjected to bullying allegations when they are genuinely trying to deal with an under-performing staff member.

The Irish Primary Principals’ Network (IPPN) and the National Association of Principals and Deputy Principals (NAPD) in association with Mason Hayes & Curran conducted a survey of members in relation to the challenges of managing school staff. During this webinar we shared the results of the survey with commentary from IPPN.

The Mason Hayes & Curran LLP Education team discussed the type of under-performance issues they deal with on a daily basis when advising schools. In particular, the options that are open to school leaders and the pitfalls that need to be avoided.

You can contact the speakers directly:
Pairic Clerkin, CEO, IPPN - pairic.clerkin@ippn.ie
Ian O'Herlihy, Partner & Head of Education, Mason Hayes & Curran LLP - ioherlihy@mhc.ie
Liam Riordan, Partner, Mason Hayes & Curran LLP - lriordan@mhc.ie
Fiona Sheil, Associate, Mason Hayes & Curran LLP - fsheil@mhc.ie
David Ruddy, BL, Mason Hayes & Curran LLP - druddy@mhc.ie

To view the webinar, please click the video below. If you have any queries, please email events@mhc.ie

 

Related Expertise

Education Law
  • LinkedIn