Internet Explorer 11 (IE11) is not supported. For the best experience please open using Chrome, Firefox, Safari or MS Edge

109 longlisted. 28 shortlisted. 13 exhibitors. 5 winning artists.

We would like to congratulate the five artists (details below) who have been announced as the winners of the 2022 RDS Visual Art Awards.

We are particularly pleased to announce Myfanwy Frost-Jones as the winner of the RDS Mason Hayes & Curran LLP Centre Culturel Irlandais Residency Award. Now in its sixth year, this award gives the winner full-time access to a room and studio space for three months in the heart of Paris.

Myfanwy Frost-Jones, winner of the 2022 RDS Mason Hayes & Curran LLP Centre Culturel Irlandais Residency Award.

Myfanwy graduated from MTU Crawford College of Art & Design with a first-class honours degree in Fine Art, having previously studied Visual Art at TU Dublin, Sherkin Island. Working as an artist and oyster farmer based in the west of Ireland, she examines the complicated relationships between land, labour and ecology in a rural space.

Embracing the sublime, her work investigates the dark histories of the past whilst acknowledging the picturesque allure of the rural landscape. Her work layers conflicting histories of colonialism and invasion with current issues of biodiversity and coastal erosion, combining photography and moving image installation with the use of text to create a poetic narrative.

L-R: RDS President Professor Owen Lewis, Myfanwy Frost-Jones and our Chair, Christine O'Donovan

Passionate about environmental sustainability, biodiversity and local food networks, Myfanwy makes work that looks at rural life and the changes inherent in the working landscape as we enter the Anthropocene. Personal stories merge with more universal themes, creating an immersive experience and linking the many pasts with the present within the landscape, giving insight into the realities and expectations of land and sustainability in the Irish rural environment.

Winners - 2022 RDS Visual Art Awards

  • Myfanwy Frost-Jones (RDS Mason Hayes & Curran LLP Centre Culturel Irlandais Residency Award - €6,000 value)
  • Venus Patel (RDS Taylor Art Award - €10,000)
  • Sadhbh Mowlds (R.C. Lewis-Crosby Award - €5,000)
  • Orla Comerford (RDS Members' Art Fund Award - €5,000)
  • Lucy Peters (RHA Graduate Studio Award - €7,500 value)

Share this: