Internet Explorer 11 (IE11) is not supported. For the best experience please open using Chrome, Firefox, Safari or MS Edge

This week in our MHC Life Series, we hear from John Troute, a new Partner in our Corporate team. John chats about his first job and coaching skills.

MHC LIfe John Troute

Tell us a bit about you and your career journey to get to MHC – what inspired you to get into this career

I am a Partner in the Corporate team of Mason Hayes & Curran, with a focus on mergers and acquisitions, shareholder arrangements and private equity. I started my legal career in NUI, Galway and completed a Bachelor of Corporate Law, (B.Corp Law) and Bachelor of Law, (LLB). I am goal oriented and have always enjoyed being part of a deal team - advising on corporate transactions has been a natural fit.

The legal profession can be challenging from a personal and professional perspective, but I have also found it to be very rewarding. I’ve worked in law firms in Ireland and abroad and have been incredibly lucky to have met a number of individuals who had a very positive impact on my career. Each had their own strengths whether it be technical ability, business development or emotional intelligence and knowing the right time to take the team out to recharge batteries. I’ve always tried to apply those strengths to my own management style.

Over the last couple of years, I have worked on the opposite side of a number of transactions with the corporate department of Mason Hayes & Curran. I was impressed with the personnel, expertise and culture and it was these factors that played a large part in my decision to join Mason Hayes & Curran recently.

What was your first job?

My first job was during transition year in school when I worked at a petrol station. We used to call ourselves “fuel injection technicians” but the job was to pump the petrol, sell coal and wash cars.

We worked outside come hail, rain or shine with only a phone booth sized box between two or three of us for shelter. I met some great characters with lots of life experience.

Talk us through a typical day for you

With three boys under the age of 6, I’m not sure I know what “typical” means anymore. A good day would start with the three boys sleeping until at least 6.30am. I usually wake up to the sound of Hulk, Hawkeye, Thor (or whatever Avenger my four year old has decided to be that morning) running into my room to wrestle me.

As I work the majority of my week from home in Galway, I am in charge of the school run so the next two hours can safely be described as organised chaos in order to get the boys ready for school and out the door by 8.30am.

Like a lot of teams, my work day will start with a team call on zoom.

I usually try to break up my work day with a run during the afternoon. I can’t count the number of times I’ve worked through a technical point while exercising and I can’t recommend that enough.

What sports/hobbies/pastimes do you enjoy?

I like to run a few times each week. During lockdown, I also set up a small gym for myself at home.

My six year old recently joined the Maree/Oranmore under 6’s soccer team in Galway. In my naivety, I dressed for the occasion and obviously showed too much enthusiasm from the sidelines. I was quickly enlisted as an honorary coach and I’m now busy running soccer drills with a mob of crazed 6 year olds for an hour each Saturday.

Favourite quote

The little things…there's nothing bigger, is there? (Vanilla Sky)

Share this: